The University Orchestra

The Rostock University of Music and Drama’s orchestra consists of students from the master’s and bachelor’s degree courses and meets up twice a semester for rehearsals that are followed by concerts, as well as repertoire practice. It is here that young talents attending the Young Academy Rostock (YARO) - the centre for the promotion of young musical talent - also gain their first orchestral experience. The performances are held in the University’s own Katharinensaal in Rostock. External concerts have taken the orchestra to Schwerin, Neustrelitz, Güstrow and Hamburg. A concert performed by the University Orchestra was also broadcast in NDR’s concert series ‘Start - Junge Künstler live’.

The repertoire is diverse and varied. The Orchestra performs symphonic programmes and soloist concerts, as well as oratories and operas. This makes it possible for students to gain practice in a broad range of concert and opera literature from various periods and styles and prepares them for their later professional careers as musicians.

By regularly accompanying instrumental and vocal soloists and playing compositions written by students, or being directed by student conductors, the artists refine their soloist skills and knowledge of neighbouring subjects at the very beginning of their careers. Along with Prof. Christfried Göckeritz, Prof. Daniel Huppert and Prof. Florian Erdl various guest conductors lead the Orchestra. Amongst the guests conductors are Karl-Heinz Zettl, Christopher Moulds, Rasmus Baumann, and Andrea Sanguineti.

Photo: Thomas Häntzschel

University Orchestra Concert under the direction of Prof. Daniel Huppert

Photo: Mirco Dalchow

Performance of the Mass in b minor at the Bach Festival under the direction of Prof. Christfried Göckeritz

Reiner Nicklas

University Orchestra Concert

F. Schubert: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major D485, F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Symphony No. 3 in A minor op. 56 "Scottish

University Orchestra Concert

University Orchestra Concert

Richard Strauss: Horn Concerto in E flat major No. 1 op. 11; Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks op. 28; Suite from the opera "Der Rosenkavalier"